I played some…

So today I played some 3D Dot Game Heroes and yesterday I played some Metal Gear Solid 2 HD.

For those of you who aren’t familiar with 3D Dot Game Heroes it is an Atlus published, PS3 exclusive, 3D remake of the original Legend of Zelda. It isn’t a pixel for pixel remake and no trademarks were violated but you can clearly tell that it is  Zelda I. Except there is a twist…instead of being played in 2D, as was the original, the whole world is made up of 3D cubes. What this means is that you can recreate the original 2D Link sprite from Zelda I, in three 3D.

The game has a very deep, but so user friendly, character creator so there infinite choice of player characters. And all of the best user characters have been uploaded to the games website were you can put them onto a USB drive and into your game… now if only I could figure out how to do that.

Zelda I is from before my time [post coming soon]. I have never fully completed it  and have ever only gotten as far as dungeon two. So when I saw a copy of Dot Heroes in the store for twenty bucks I said, “why not.” I know it isn’t Zelda, but its close enough.

But enough rambling.

The game is fun and more strategic then my brief sessions with Zelda I were. Combat is crazy because for people who played it they will remember that in the first Zelda whenever you had full life you could shoot your sword. While in Dot Heroes they took it a step further. Now I could describe what happens when you have full health, but a picture says a thousand words.

That giant white wide thing is the sword. And you can choose how you upgrade your sword. So you could instead have it be like…

I’m not going to go into a lot of details now (review?) but so far the game is fun.

Metal Gear Solid 2 HD on the other hand…

The game is fun, but since I never played in 2001 it feels a lot more dated. Certain things like semi-tank like controls I don’t mind because with the update that’s not really some thing you could fix. But problems such as the inability to pause cutscenes is much harder to stomach. Especially coming from the series that set the record for longest cutscene.

Other then little problems though I’m have a lot of fun with it. The story is crazy and over the top, the levels are really fun to play around in, and the one boss fight I’ve been in was super cool.

My finally verdict for both of the games will have to wait, but at the moment I’m giving them both thumbs up.

–Levi

If you like my blog I would really appreciated if you would spread it to other people you know who like games. Its real easy, all you have to do is click on one of the sharing buttons that are at the bottom of every post. 

Posted on January 6, 2012, in 2012, PS3, Thoughts, Video Game and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

