Ocarina of Time 3D (2011), video game review.

I have a confession to make.  I’ve never play Ocarina of Time. I played it but I never finished it and I only played it earlier this year. But now I have remedied that in my run through the remastered, Ocarina of Time 3D. And I got to say, it’s quite a game. Not the best, probably not ever one of my top ten, but I can see how players must have felt back in the late nineties when they first got their hands on it. And I was amazed that they were able cram the whole game into the little 3DS chip.

So…without forth ado…my review…

The Good and The Bad.

Even though the original came out over ten years ago Ocarina is still a good a game. The puzzles and dungeons are still fun, the exploration is still a blast, and the new improvements have only made it a much better game then the 1998 version. Things like the gyroscope and 3D I original scoffed at when I heard about their inclusion. But once you have the game in your hands (I still can’t believe they made it portable!) you’ll realize that they actually work quite well. The motion controls are a totally viable option, and the 3D graphics look phenomenal.

The infamous Water Temple has also been tweaked to make it less of a hassle. Markers are placed throughout the temple guiding you to the water rising locations, and boots now have the ability to be equipped as items. This time around the Water Temple was playable and didn’t take 2+ hours.

Using a touch screen is the way that Zelda was meant to be played. With the map, gear, and health all tucked away on the bottom screen it freed up the top screen to display the gorgeous 3D visuals. It was sooo nice to be able to see the map on the bottom-screen inside of having to pause the game. And equipping items has never been easier. The ocarina also has its own permanent icon; and you can now be playing and view the music charts.

I think that my favorite part of this whole game might be its score. Ever single tune was a master piece, and I couldn’t help but hum along to them and still be humming long after I stopped playing. I’m seriously considering buying the soundtrack.

As I said before the 3D graphics are incredible. When I first played the 3DS I didn’t think the graphics were anything special, but after playing through Ocarina 3D I can realize how amazing playing games in 3D could be. The depth that it adds to Zelda was stunning. At times it even seemed as if the original game was designed to be played in 3D. But that’s just crazy talk…right?

This is the best way to play Ocarina of Time, and also the best 3DS game to date. If, like myself, you haven’t yet played Ocarina don’t let this opportunity pass you by.

Visual: The 3D is truly incredible, but I wish the had improved the bland art style a little more.

Sound: This is among the greatest soundtracks of all time (movie, video game, or TV show).

Gameplay: Puzzles, exploration, combat: the perfect blend that the Zelda games are known for.

Worth Your Money: The main quest lasted me about a dozen twenty hours, but like I said that I had already played some of the game before, so if its your first time around then I will probably last you a little longer. And this version comes packed with the Master Quest (which is unlocked by beating the game) and a mode that you can refight bosses you’ve already fought.

Console: 3DS.

Developer: Nintendo and Grezzo.

Parental Rating: E10.

Overall Score: 9.25/10

Posted on August 15, 2011, in 2011, 3DS, Review, Video Game and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. It took me a lot longer than two hours to beat the water temple… Probably closer to 4+ hours.

    I’ll admit, I too was singing those themesongs for quite a while after finishing that game.

    Also, I’ll disagree with you about those graphics. I know they’re a little old, but I wouldn’t have liked it if they did any more than polish them up a little.

  2. My standred is Twilight Princess because that was my first Zelda experience, and that game was much more filling graphical.

Leave a Reply

