Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows pt 2 (2011), movie review.

This is the end. Harry Potter’s final chapter. By the end of this he will have either defeated the dark lord Voldemort, or he will be wiped from the face of the earth. For those of you who read the book you probably already remember what happens. But that doesn’t make the movie any less exciting.

Read on to find out what I thought of the movie…

The Good and The Bad.

The Harry Potter movies have good special effects. Its one of the reasons that their fun to watch. Maybe it’s just because I have seen the last two movies, or maybe it really is that The Deathly Hallows pt 2 just has better special effects. Who knows. But when I was watching I was impressed by the effects. The smoke based effects very some of the best, and it seems like they knew that because they used them quite a lot. But there were some of great effects. A giant serpent made out of fire, a massive firework-like spell battle, and Hogwarts itself.

The Deathly Hallows pt 2 does a great job with the atmosphere. Its dark and moody end-of-days feel was very well done. I’m not the biggest Harry Potter fan in the world, and in recent years events have dislike it almost to the point of hatred, but still it was a little sad see the old school at torn apart by death. Even though I knew you was going to win the massive battle was still very intense and well done. It was a true send off for the boy who lived.

Having not read the book since it came out a few years ago, and I hadn’t seen the past two movies either, I was a little worried that I wouldn’t know what was going on. For the most part my fear was unfounded, but in a few instances I did have a clear picture on what was going on.

I was actually fairly impressed by the camera work. It’s not the best I’ve seen, but sometimes in action movies the fights are lost in all the many cuts back and forth they make. I only found that once and I’m pretty sure it was on purpose.

I’ve always liked Harry Potters musical score. And The Deathly Hallows is no exception. From the epic bass filled battle songs, to the more subtle songs reserved for character deaths, the movie has ’em all, and they are great.

The acting has never been anything more than average in the Harry Potter saga. There have been a few exceptions, the first actor to play Dumbledore has quite good, but other than those few there was anyone extraordinary. Sadly, these is still the case, and probably the movies biggest stumble.

Also the epilogue was terrible, but all epilogues are.

All-in-all I was surprised how much I enjoyed the movie. I still think that the first two movies were the best, but this one ranks in at a close 2nd.

If you’re a fan of the movies or books you know your going to see this, regardless of what I say, but if someone is dragging you to see the movie and you want to know how it ranks… Well you’ll probably (like me) enjoy yourself more than you thought.

Visuals: Very impressive. Both the make up and the special effects were great.

Sounds: The music is classic Harry Potter, which means that it’s quite good.

Acting: As with most of the Potter movies, the acting is way people flock to the theaters.

Writing: Nothing too shocking happens, but then again, I already vaguely knew what to expect.

Starring: Danial Radcliffe, Rupert Grint, Emma Watson, Alan Rickman, Ralph Fiennes.

Directed By: David Yates.

Parental Rating: PG-13.

Overall Score: 9/10

Posted on July 15, 2011, in 2011, Movie, Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’d give it a ten, but then, I’m a pretty big Harry Potter fan.

  2. I’m grateful for you because of this excellent content material. You genuinely did make my day :

Leave a Reply

